The Promise

I have been running all my life

Searching for the dream I’ve always longed to reach

I’ve gone to the heights of joy and the depths of despair

But I keep asking, “where do I really wanna go?”

 

The road seems too long to travel by

Tunnels I’ve gone through were pitch-dark

Until when do I keep hoping to reach the dream?

Lord, where do I go? I ask, Lord, where do I go?

 

Refrain:

Though the wind gets rough

And the sun withers the leaf

I will never let you down

My son, remember this promise

 

Chorus:

For I know the plans I have for you

(declares the Lord)

Plans to prosper you and not to harm you

Plans to give you hope and a future

 

I’ve been sailing to the farthest of the seas

I’ve been walking along the streets of life

Yet my rowing never seemed enough

My journey has been taking so much time

 

My eyes have seen both dawn and dusk

Felt the warmth of day and the chill of the night

Seasons have come and gone, they change

My life, O Lord, when will Thy hand lift me up?

 

Bridge:

I’ve known of happiness and glee, of grief and silent woes

Still, my heart floods with uncertainties

Please help me understand, help me understand

Leave a Reply

