Happy New Year later. :)

18 “Forget the former things;
do not dwell on the past.
19 See, I am doing a new thing!
Now it springs up; do you not perceive it?
I am making a way in the wilderness
and streams in the wasteland.”

What a great promise of God to those who believe in Him!

Hi folks, the year 2011 is coming to an end, and in just a few hours, we will welcome another year. According to the news (which was based on a recent survey), 95% of Filipinos are hoping for a better year – way better than the previous ones, I suppose. This is a good thing, and I join these optimistic people, always looking at the bright side of the whole thing. However, we also have to examine those tiny (or even huge) negative vibes that perhaps caused adversity or obstruction of blessings, and assess the past year – what good have I done, what not-so-good have I done, what bad have I done, but the most important is – what good can I do now. Got it right – self-evaluation: looking into both angles in order to take better actions for the next.

I’d like to share with you a glimpse of my past year, not only to tell my story but to share stuff that can somehow encourage people. Honestly, it was a wave. Strong, fierce, and severe in the first quarter because of the demands associated with my work as a teacher in an all-boys school in QC especially because we were in the last trimester of the school year, and other reasons. During those last days of the school year, I was kind of excited, looking forward to ending the school year after a relatively stressful one. That would mark the end of my contract too. It was a relief. But a part of me felt a bit emotional – three years of teaching and sharing, loving and caring, sacrifice and understanding, blessing and discipline, and academic learning (yes, even teachers learn) within the confines of the high school – would be coming to an end. Prior to my dismissal, I was approached by a good friend if I would like to teach part-time, given that my full-time contract was over. But something happened, as expected. Some parents sort of gave a threat – that if I would stay at the (high school), they would find a way to have me fired or dismissed. So much bitterness they had, accused me of imparity and unprofessionalism. Of course, their assumptions and allegations are untrue but I’d rather stay away from such complicated and cloudy scenario. I’d rather leave. Clearly, I could not push through with working part-time. Anyway, a bigger portion of my mind says, “I want to get relieved and get on with my life.” But given all the stress in my last year, I had so much fun (and food) during my stay at the (insert name of the high school here), especially in the first two years. Drama naman. 

Good thing din naman that I was not hired part-time because I had the luxury of time to allot for my graduate studies para naman I could finish my program before I reach the maximum residency period. I feel blessed because I had the chance to study full-time at the UP (though I’ve been a graduate student of International Studies for almost 5 years already, yes, I was a working student). My dad and bro who both work abroad have promised to support my studies. Although I have some savings to support my last semester in the graduate school, the family has been very supportive. Kahit si mama, hinahatid ako tuwing papasok at susunduin kapag masyadong maraming dala. My last semester was refreshing but challenging at the same time – becoming a student (again) implies freedom, but being a full-time student with all the heavy demands in the grad school entails perseverance and hardwork. But to make the long story short, I survived it. Praise God.

I left a good school, and intensified my stay with my beloved school. It’s been a good year. Good, to me, is not perfect… Circumstances came but yeah, all things work together for the good of those who love the Lord. Challenges come but so long as you know you’re guided by the Good Shepherd, no worries. Jesus, take the wheel. 

Jeremiah 33:3
3 ‘Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know.’

Jeremiah 29: 11
For I know the plans I have for you,” says the LORD. “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.

AMEN. 

Leave a Reply

